Saamba

LAST 5 ENTRIES:

Remotely interesting - 07.07.2006
Weather or not you believe this.... - 07.06.2006
Dear Scientific Community..... - 03.11.2005
the saambas go missing-in-action - 11.22.2004
i'm baaack! - 10.29.2004

Book & Movie Review Edition

10.22.2004 1:40 p.m.

Today's Rant


Archives

 

Hate Mail


About

 

Visit DiaryLand

Web site design and content provided by the Department of Homeland Security - Passive Electronic Monitoring Division. � 2004 All rights reserved. If you see or hear any suspicious activity, face your computer monitor and describe the activity in a clear, steady voice. Also, please be sure to keep your monitor screen clean at all times and enable Cookies on your system.

Not-So-Daily Blatherings

So

 

Saamba♀ bought me a couple of books the other day as a present. No occasion, just random present giving, which leads me to conclude she must be having an affair and feels guilty enough about it to give money to the local bookstore.

 

One of the books is called "Position Of The Day," and is filled with 365 different sexual positions, one for each day of the year. Apparently, the folks that put this book together seem to think that people who need a different sexual position for every day of the year also have a lot of rocking chairs in their house, because rocking chairs are pictured in it a lot more often than beds. We are going to need to get one, I suppose. We are also going to need an ottoman, a swing set, gymnastics rings, a chin-up bar, a trapeze, a stripper-pole installed in a doorway, a personal trainer and several very open-minded friends.

 

We've started to go through the calendar is it instructs, but I am afraid we are soon going to have a problem. For instance, the position we are scheduled to try tomorrow is likely going to put one, or both of us, in the hospital. You can see it pictured in the lower-middle of the passenger safety card above, where I have played with the images and added color. That's called "The Tadpole." I'm not sure how that works. I have checked the book from start to finish and I cannot find any mention of the words "astronauts" or "zero-gravity." The one next to it, with the water, isn't really supposed to have the water, but I think that might be a way we could train for the real thing.

 

If you don't hear from us for a week or two, call the DiaryLand Paramedics.

 

Oh, and just in case anyone caught the spelling error in the Passenger Safety Card above, I should point out that "accommodations" was spelled wrong on the Hooter's website.

 

Another book she got me is called "America - The Book." It was put together by Jon Stewart from The Daily Show, and is modeled to look just like a typical high school American history book, but is a parody instead. It even smells like a history book, or at least I think it does. It's been a long time since I was near one.

 

Anyway, the book is hilarious and really well done in hardcover. Here is an example [on the left] of one of those little "factoids" they would stick in the margins of a history book.

 

I have a feeling that I am actually going to learn more American history reading this book than I learned in high school, and this book is meant to be a joke. Actually, now that I think about it, it will be just like high school.

 

I highly recommend this book, especially as a gift. I think that if comedians wrote our history books, kids would enjoy reading them more and would do better in school and then the Europeans wouldn't make fun of them in the playground when they didn't know where Brussels was on a map. Comedians would definitely make fun of Brussels.

 

I'm not sure how to make math textbooks funny, though. Maybe those should be done by supermodels.

 

A third book she got me is a computer administrator's book for Linux called "Setting Up LAMP," which was really brave of her considering I like to play around with my computers and know just enough about them to blow shit up. Despite being a patient and careful person most of the time, when it comes to computers I am more of a "What happens if I do this!" person than a "Maybe I should backup the entire system and move the cats to a safe place" kinda person. The Linux box I am running now I built myself against the better judgment of every employee at CompUSA, who insisted on building it for me. I declined their offer, and told them instead to just "give me all the parts" and then rushed home to get it built before the girlfriend came home and discovered the mess I was creating. To my surprise, I got it assembled and running in under two hours, and I had NO idea what I was doing. The girlfriend was impressed at first that I was able to slap it together so quickly, but later I had to take it apart again to let one of the cats out.

 

The book came highly recommended by one of the guys in the IT department in her office, so maybe that's who she is having the affair with - I just hope it isn't the really old one.

 

Before you get the impression we are just book worms without any sense of culture, we also watched a few movies recently too. "Van Helsing" for instance, about a vampire/ware-wolf bounty hunter, and "The Masseuse" about Jenna Jameson taking her clothes off. Those of you who have already seen "Van Helsing" already know that, of the two movies I just listed, the latter one is much better.

 

Seriously.

 

First of all, I should say that the art-production and visual effects in "Van Helsing" appear to be an enormous amount of the overall film budget, and we rented the movie not really expecting it to be very good. In that regard, it did not disappoint us at all. It was terrible. Although someone spent a lot of effort on the scenery and visuals, every other aspect of the movie was pretty much a failure, especially the dialog and plot. Seven minutes into the movie, I turned to Saamba♀ and asked her if it was supposed to be a comedy.

 

The movie seemed to be patched together with various concepts from "HellBoy," "Aliens," "Indiana Jones," the James Bond series and the Road Runner cartoons to name a few. The "HellBoy" character (Dr. Jeckle) who appears early in the movie was supposed to be scary, but instead he was a mixture of Mike Myers/HellBoy/Shrek/Fat Bastard. Alien egg-pods abound in the movie supposedly as vampire eggs, and apparently the Vatican acts as a secret spy agency complete with a "Q" who invents high-tech gadgets for Van Helsing to use on his adventures. Frankenstein plays a large role in the movie as the misunderstood monster. The Werewolf plays the role of "Wile E. Coyote" from the Road Runner cartoons and makes a habit of getting tricked into falling down massive ravines and making a little 'splash' in the river below on more than one occasion. Female banshee/vampire girls show off their cleavage a lot (the only reason they are in the movie) and speak like they live in modern-day southern California which is pretty progressive for 19th century Transylvania. The main villain, Count Dracula, looks like Bono from the Rattle&Hum era, but much less scary.

 

The female lead in the movie was played by Kate Beckinsale, who did AN AMAZING job looking exactly like Lauren Graham from the Gilmore Girls. They probably could have saved some money by just casting Ms. Graham for the part and telling her not to smile. See for yourself - Kate Beckinsale is pictured on the left, Lauren Graham is pictured in the middle. The woman on the right was in the movie....you decide.

 

  Kate Beckinsale Lauren Graham Holy Shit! It's Lauren Kate Graham Beckinsale!

This played with my mind the entire movie.

 

I think the movie would have been better if they had just named it "Identity Crisis."

 

Finally, our last review is "The Masseuse," a lovely tale about a shy and lonely guy who gets a 'special' massage from Jenna Jameson, and then begins to stalk her like a celery farm. This movie, unlike Van Helsing, even has a sub-plot, but we have no idea how it ends because we have only watched the first half-hour so far. However, from what we have seen it is very well done from a professional audio/video standpoint and looks like a real movie, except there is no wardrobe department. My only complaint is that it might be a little tame/slow for our tastes.

 

After all, we are going to be buying a rocking chair soon.



 4 wrote to say im an idiot.


Next >
< Previous

Webdesigner - dont forget to type something really cool here, ok?