Saamba

LAST 5 ENTRIES:

Remotely interesting - 07.07.2006
Weather or not you believe this.... - 07.06.2006
Dear Scientific Community..... - 03.11.2005
the saambas go missing-in-action - 11.22.2004
i'm baaack! - 10.29.2004

Sunday is STATS day

10.15.2004 11:43 p.m.

Today's Rant


Archives

 

Hate Mail


About

 

Visit DiaryLand

Web site design and content provided by the Department of Homeland Security - Passive Electronic Monitoring Division. � 2004 All rights reserved. If you see or hear any suspicious activity, face your computer monitor and describe the activity in a clear, steady voice. Also, please be sure to keep your monitor screen clean at all times and enable Cookies on your system.

Not-So-Daily Blatherings

Therapist: �Good afternoon, please sit down.�

Saamba♀: �Thank you for seeing us on such short notice, doctor.�

Saamba♂: �Yes, sorry to bother you on a Sunday.�

Therapist: �Yes, well from your phone messages I thought it best to see you right away. You must have left a dozen messages.....�

Saamba♂: �14 messages actually. 10 in the first 24-hour period and 4 more in the following 6 hours, which is an increase of over 60%.�

Therapist: �I see. And what exactly is the problem again?�

Saamba♀: �We are addicted to statistics, doctor.�

Therapist: �Hmmm. I see you brought your laptops with you.....�

Saamba♀: �Yes. Your receptionist told us you had a wireless Internet connection here in your office. That's why we chose to come to you instead of the other doc.....�

Saamba♂:Ooo! Ooo! Brett Favre just threw a 40 yard pass! That's another 2.66 points!�

Saamba♀: �Hold on, let me check the banner ads.....�

Therapist: �I see. And when did this addiction begin?�

Saamba♂: �We're not sure.....but we signed up for this online-diary thing a few months ago and.....�

Saamba♀: �Yessss!� [pumps fist] �'Spill the wine' just got another hit - that's a 3.2% click-through now. I'm ahead!�

Saamba♂: �Dammit. What a stupid banner ad. What is wrong with people? You would think all the guys and lesbians would like my 'boobies' banner......but a stupid picture of a wine glass....�

Therapist: [confused] �Boobies banner?�

Saamba♀: �He made this childish banner ad showing Tyra Bank's breasts, and he thinks people will click on it. See � it's right here....�


Saamba♂: �But it's animated! I spent a lot of time on that!�

Saamba♀: �Yeah. You did.�

Therapist: �What is all this other stuff on the screen?�

Saamba♀: �This is our fantasy football league here � it gives us real-time football statistics. For instance, Tiki Barber has rushed for 34 yards today so far, and has only fumbled 3 times. Next to it we have my I-Squad points for helping to promote certain music bands I like. Right now I am ranked 7th in the nation for one of three bands, and soon will have enough points to win a sweaty towel used by the drummer in the '94 concert at 'The Chance.' Over here we have the number of people who have visited our online diary in the past hour. This number is higher than usual now because we are running banner ads to draw people in, like this one I made here with the picture of the glass of wine. It's gotten 10 clicks so far this afternoon, and is our highest ranked ad.�



Therapist: �I like it. I would click on that if I saw it.�

Saamba♂: [groan]

Saamba♀: [continuing] �I also keep an eye on my emails here to see if anyone left us a comment on our diary, and the yahoo messenger is used to 'talk smack' to other members of the fantasy football league. See? I'm typing a message to SwampRat telling him he doesn't have to pay money to get beaten by a girl anymore...�

Therapist: �.....you spelled 'strap-on' wrong....�


Saamba♂: �That's nothing � I can watch the football games on my screen as the stats are updated, so I can see the plays as well. Look at my screen.....I keep track of the number of visitors to our diary, and the computer displays it as a three color chart broken down by average pageviews and unique visitors. Over here we can see what pages linked to our diary, and if anyone found us doing a strange google search. For instance, this person came to us by doing a search for 'Kojak wheelchair hot babes'. I also keep an eye on the banner ads and track how much traffic my business website gets every day with these charts here.....�


Therapist: �I see.....�

Saamba♀: �Oh! Doctor! Could I get your email address? I get I-Squad points for mailing links to people and I only need 122 more to beat out SexxyKitN for 6th place.�

Saamba♂: �Ah ha! Someone just clicked the boobies banner! I'm up to 0.008 percent!�

Saamba♀: �That was you.�

Therapist: �And why do you get so much enjoyment out of this.....activity....do you think?�

Saamba♂: �It's really healthy to interact with people in the outside world! Why just the other day, we had a pageview from someone at the NASA Jet Propulsion Labs!�

Saamba♀: �Good to see they're hard at work.....Dammit! Tiki dropped the ball again....!�

Therapist: �Are you friends with any of these people?�

Saamba♂: �Oh, hell no. We have no idea who they are. But they tell us all sorts of personal details about their lives so it feels like we know them. Like this girl, for instance.....she hasn't gotten laid in a while so she is describing how she used a turkey baster to.....wait.....WHOOHOO! SOMEONE JUST ADDED US AS A FAVORITE!!!�

Saamba♀: �Who? Where are they from??�

Saamba♂: �Somewhere in Texas, I think. Or maybe Transylvania!�

[Saambaand Saambasuddenly stand up and start dancing around the room � Snoopy style.]

Therapist: �What on earth are you doing?? Get off my desk!�

Saamba♂: [looking at computer] �Shit. The Rabid Squirrels just scored a touchdown. That puts me down another 6 points. Quick � start a preemptive flame war!�

Saamba♀: �You do it. The last time Ryan started crying when I told him your team was going to break into his house and kill his dog.....�

Saamba♂: �What do you expect? He's only six years old...�

Therapist: �Have you two tried going out to an actual game....or maybe meeting friends outside of the Internet? You could even watch your football games in a sports bar with other fans.....�

Saamba♀: �Are you kidding? Then how would we watch our stats?�

Saamba♂: �Besides, we can't go to a bar in our underwear!�

Therapist: �Yes, I was going to ask you about that.....�

Saamba♀: �Doctor, can I use your computer for a moment? If we view our diary from a different machine it counts as a new unique host!�

Saamba♂: �Hey! There's a computer in the next office too! I'll make the coffee!�

**************************************************************************************************




 3 wrote to say im an idiot.


Next >
< Previous

Webdesigner - dont forget to type something really cool here, ok?