Saamba

LAST 5 ENTRIES:

Remotely interesting - 07.07.2006
Weather or not you believe this.... - 07.06.2006
Dear Scientific Community..... - 03.11.2005
the saambas go missing-in-action - 11.22.2004
i'm baaack! - 10.29.2004

BlueJay Madness

09.17.2004 5:14 p.m.

Today's Rant


Archives

 

Hate Mail


About

 

Visit DiaryLand

Web site design and content provided by the Department of Homeland Security - Passive Electronic Monitoring Division. � 2004 All rights reserved. If you see or hear any suspicious activity, face your computer monitor and describe the activity in a clear, steady voice. Also, please be sure to keep your monitor screen clean at all times and enable Cookies on your system.

Not-So-Daily Blatherings

New Page 1

"Excuse me, Sir? Hi. Sorry to bother you. I was wondering if I could make a rather odd request?"

"Sure...what is it?"

"May I take a picture of your shoe?"

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Wednesday's horoscope: �It's hard to pay attention when new developments or more exciting projects catch your eye. An encounter with another culture will bring the world closer to you while opening up doors of opportunity.�

Ok, I'm not one to believe in horoscopes, but that Wednesday morning our plans to each have productive days at work were somewhat sidetracked. When saamba (her) was leaving to go to work, she took three steps outside and I heard her let out a small shriek.

Oh no, I thought - not another midget.

I went out expecting to see her hugging the midget gleefully, but instead saw her crouched down on the grass (none too ladylike in a business suit with a short skirt - she adds) talking to a blue jay a few feet away. At first, we weren't sure what had happened to him, though he definitely was unable to fly, and didn't have the energy to get away from us. We guess he flew into one of our windows - either that or one of our indoor cats has been abusing their telekinesis powers. Saamba(her)'s Dr. Doolittle mode kicked in and she started begging me to find a box we could put him in so we could care for him. She used the excuse that "there are so many cats in the neighborhood..." but truthfully, I haven't seen a cat around here in more than a year - they were all killed by the tigers.

We immediately got to work, emergency style. I grabbed a small box we had been saving for no reason and stole the neighbor's newly delivered newspaper right from their front door while she called the office to say she would be late. It was, after all, an emergency.

Sort of.

I crumpled up the newspaper and stuffed it in the box like we were going to be shipping the bird through the mail, and then set about trying to put said bird in said shipping container. While he was obviously not well, he did have enough self-preservation left in him to hop and flail clumsily all over the yard. At one point he actually took flight long enough to careen straight into a tree he was trying to take refuge in. We watched with a cringe as he landed back down on the ground with a *thud*, but we were then able to scoop him up and bring him inside.

At this point I think we had successfully caused the bird more damage than good, but it's the thought that counts, right?

As we brought him inside, the bird was squawking up a storm, which confused the living shit out of our two cats - they knew there was a bird very close nearby, but didn't seem to agree exactly where. The "polydactyl" cat figured it out soon enough, but "squeaky-toy" sat staring out the sliding glass doors. She was convinced that if she could hear a bird, it MUST be outside, despite the fact that it was four feet behind her on the living room table. Saamba(her) eventually saw the way I had packed the bird for shipping, and wisely suggested a much larger container. She ran into the bedroom to dump all of our winter clothing out from a large tupperware storage bin and brought it into the living room, dragging a few unhappy sweaters behind her. This left our bedroom looking as if the closet had barfed all over the floor. We carefully moved him to the bigger box and brought him into the computer room, away from the curiosity of our two slightly idiotic cats.

Upon closer inspection, it seemed that the bird had two problems - one of his legs was messed up (he couldn't stand) and one of his wings seemed out-of-whack. He would basically just fall over if he wasn't propped up somehow. I was for awhile worried that maybe he was diseased, and must have washed my hands about 3,000 times that day - wiping everything in the room with clorox wipes, but I don't think that was the case. He was just busted.

The bird seemed calm through all this, though he was possibly frozen in sheer terror, I'm not sure. Relying on our massive combined intellect, we realized that we had no idea what to actually do with the bird now that we had him, and defaulted to our childhood methodology: FEED IT!

But what does a Blue Jay eat? Birds eat worms, right? A Blue Jay is a bird, so it must eat worms. Logic 101. This was disappointing, because neither of us wanted to deal with worms, so we turned to the Internet. God I love the Internet. I turns out, that despite a reputation for eating the eggs of other birds, Blue Jays are mostly vegetarians, and often eat regular birdseed. This was good because we had just eaten our last bird eggs the night before.

It eventually became clear that I was going to have to schlep to the store to get birdseed and she grudgingly admitted that she had run out of excuses why this morning emergency should keep her from going to work. After spending about a half-hour agonizing over my choice of seed ("...but this package has a picture of a blue-jay....") I eventually bought two different brands and returned home.

By the time I got home, I already had 5 email messages from my girlfriend asking how "Budgie" was. Since I have not memorized all of John Lennon's poetry, I didn't know what the hell she was referring to, but I assumed she meant the bird. Budgie was fine, in fact he now seemed to be able to stand rather than just lay on his side like an idiot. I inspected him more closely as the cats madly clawed at the door.

Not surprisingly, Budgie didn't seem to want to eat his birdseed or water. I don't know if it was sheer fright, but Budgie let me pick him up a couple of times for a closer health inspection. This worked fine until we started to hear the cries of another blue-jay outside the window demanding to know the whereabouts of Budgie. I figured it must be his wife, and she was probably really angry because Budgie freaked out. "Let me go! My wife's gonna whoop my ass if I'm not home in time for breakfast!" he seemed to be saying. He went into full-blown spaz mode and I almost dropped him, but then had the idea that I should take advantage of his mouth being open. I dipped my finger in his water dish and then held it over his screaming beak until a drop fell down his throat. Suddenly Budgie shut up,� swallowed a couple of times, blinked and then gave me a very strange look.

"Did you just put water in my mouth?"

After that he calmed down for awhile, and I got the impression he wasn't as scared as he was before, but that was probably wishful thinking. I fed Budgie some more water this way and got him to eat birdseed too, but mostly he was eating the birdseed by accident while trying to attack my fingers. He eventually learned he could bite me, but it didn't seem to be have an effect on me, and gave up. Anytime he got unruly, I would do the water-drop down the throat thing, and we would get all amazed and shut up. We had a good time. He didn't even shit in my hand.

Budgie hung out with me the rest of the day while I surfed the web reading fun-facts about Blue Jays. I tried to determine his sex, but he wouldn't let me, so I looked it up on the Internet instead. Apparently, you just can't tell - males and females are almost exactly alike, so we kept our conversations non-gender specific. They also mate for life, so he had years of bitching to look forward to if he survived. Budgie seemed pretty intrigued by my computer screen, especially when there were pictures of other birds. He also really liked one of my screensavers, but in a "WTF is THAT!?" kinda way. With an LCD screen, I was worried that he might try and take flight into a nice picture of a meadow, and poke a hole in my screen. Luckily, he didn't, because then I would have had to kill him.

I think it is funny that I wanted to play with the bird so much. I know that I should have just let him be and sit in his little green box and rest, but I couldn't help myself. I wanted to make friends with him, despite the fact that my attempts to make friends with him will probably be his lifetime nightmares. If I had children, I would have told them not to touch the bird....let the bird rest and don't pick him up....He might have West Nile Virus....He doesn't want to be touched....He is injured....If you touch him the other birds will smell your scent and make fun of him and not let him play in their reindeer games....that sort of thing.

But I HAD to play with him.

Anyway, Saamba(her) was stuck at work all day emailing me for updates because she was jealous that I got to stay home with the bird and she didn't get to play with him. Ha ha ha! Na na na na na na! So I told her all about how we were baking cookies and going shopping together. She contacted a bunch of animal/bird rescue centers in the area, and they were happy to take Budgie, but they said they would likely have to put the bird down. One woman insisted that the bird must have been hit by a car, but that wasn't possible given where we found it - if that had been the case then we would be caring for an injured driver instead of a bird. And possibly removing a car from our living room. The rescue centers also said that if they rehabilitated the bird, they would let it go where they are (40 minutes away). This wasn't acceptable to us. My girlfriend and I agreed that if we brought the bird to a rescue center, that we would insist having the option to bring the bird back here for release, even if they wanted to put it down.

After all, Budgie did have a loving family here. He should be given the chance to say goodbye and make it on his own. And besides that - we didn't want to stop playing with him.

By 3 p.m. Budgie had made remarkable improvements, and I was considering letting him go, but I decided to wait and prolong Budgie's torture until girlfriend returned from the office. Then two people could terrorize him! That was worth the cost of the birdseed, which by the way, I had to buy in 5 lb. bags, so we had a little bit left over. By the time she returned, Budgie seemed very eager to get the hell out. He even demonstrated his flying ability to us by voluntarily slamming himself into a wall. Three or four times.

Birds don't understand walls.

We scooped him up and brought him outside near some trees where he might be happy to take refuge. In a moment of pure natural beauty - with the chorus of a thousand heavenly voices and a bright sunbeam glowing over him, Budgie flew.

And he didn't hit anything.

He landed in a nearby branch, looked back at us, and said:

"Fuck off."

The two of us happily went back inside, proud of our accomplishment in helping the animal world, and discussed what we wanted for dinner that night: chicken or duck.

But I think my horoscope was wrong - no new doors of opportunity opened for me that day. What a crock.



 7 wrote to say im an idiot.


Next >
< Previous

Webdesigner - dont forget to type something really cool here, ok?